top of page

Fifty Shades of Grey


Dear fellow readers,

This trilogy romance film is perfect for anyone who's after love or lust. If you haven't seen the movie, fair warning: spoilers! Do not read on!

Anastasia Steele, an English literature college graduate meets Christian Grey for an interview set up by a friend, Kate who has taken ill. There's an obvious chemistry stirring between them and she feels the intense heat after leaving his office. She goes to work at a hardware store and he reappears to purchase particular items such as cable ties, masking tape, rope... and she says, "You're the complete serial killer."

His response, "Not today."

And then he offered some time for a photoshoot to help her friend and takes her out to coffee afterwards. He asks her questions to know her but then realises he didn't want to mislead her, so he withdraws his interest. Briefly. When he realises he couldn't leave her alone. She's out celebrating her friend, Jose's graduation and drinks too much. She drunk dials him and he's overly protective demands her whereabouts. He shows up when Jose tries to make a move on her and Christian takes her back to his hotel. She wakes up thinking he may have taken advantage of her but he responds, "Necrophilia is not my thing."

He really proves himself to be a gentleman when it counts. And then intrigues her when he says, "I don't do romance. My tastes are very... singular. You wouldn't understand."

Her response, "Enlighten me then."

She gets dressed to go home and get ready for work, then he wants to take her out for a date. She bites her lip and he says, "I'd like to bite that lip."

She says, "I think I'd like that too."

He proceeds to say, "I'm not gonna touch you not until I have your written consent."

It confuses her and she says, "What?"

This moment seems to excite him and he says, "I'll explain later."

But makes out with her in the lift after saying, "Fuck the paperwork."

On the date, she led up to the helicopter pad by Christian's security guard, Taylor and Christian flies her to Seattle, his apartment and he shows her the red room. This kind of kinkiness is not everyone's cup of tea. Not everyone is into S&M. Some people enjoy being submissive or dominant.

And she's utterly speechless and shocked. She reveals she's a virgin. And that leaves him utterly surprised. So, he proceeds to, as he says, "to rectify the situation."

In most cases, I guess most people would find this sexy and romantic but to me, I mean what right does he have to decide to take her virginity. That's one bit I didn't really like. He didn't really give her much of a choice. She may not have said no but I still think she wasn't given much choice. It's like he takes her virginity so he can fuck her with the red room fun.

She's given a contract to look on rules about being a submissive. She's a little intrigued but declines the contract with a tease, "It was nice knowing you."

He shows up at her apartment while with wine she's doing the laundry and he has sex with her. After her graduation, from his constant persistence, she finally gives in and suggests to set up a meeting like a business since it's a contract. He ends the contract with, "I would like to fuck you in the middle of next week."

And she says, "You're not fighting fair."

He says, "I never have."

He really does show her the pleasures of the world in his red room, wines and dines her until he shows her what really turns him on. He tells her to count out loud to six while he whips her painfully hard. Once he was finished, she gets up and shouts, "No! Don't fucking touch me!" and "Don't you dare come near me!"

She gives back the laptop and asks for the money that Taylor received from selling her car. She leaves. And his miserable. He regrets his actions so deeply he seeks her out at Jose's gallery and buys all his pictures of her in "Fifty Shades Darker". She's willingly to talk to him over dinner but wants nothing to do with his dark world.

"You were getting off on the pain you inflicted." She says.

Ana's boss, Jack Hyde makes moves on her and she's utterly oblivious. Even though Christian is clearly jealous, he rightfully protects her. He works hard on letting Ana know he's changed and she willingly gives their relationship another go.

Leila is in the shadows watching and stalking Ana out of pure envy and obsession with Christian. That's when he reveals to Ana, files on women who look like his mother. And then he tells her to use a lipstick to mark the roadmap where he cannot let her touch.

Jack proceeds to take things further by asserting authority, claiming she's not showing signs of initiation in her work and seeing the office is empty, takes advantage of the situation and becomes inappropriate. He suggests he would do better in bed than Christian. He won't let her leave. He locks her in and backs her into the door. She has no choice but to twist his arm and knee him in the groin. She runs out of the office.

Christian calls people higher up to have him fired and asks Ana to move in. Leila finally makes a deadly appearance with a gun but he shows his true colours to resolve the situation. He subdues Leila but commanding her to kneel and he pats her head like a pet. He says to Ana, "For once, just do as you're told."

This scares her and she runs off into the street. Thinking in the rain about what to do. After three hours, she returns to the apartment and says, "I'm sorry. I don't always do as I'm told. Maybe you just really need someone obeys every command."

She was deciding to leave again but he couldn't have it so he kneels on the floor and begs. And puts her hand on his chest, the area where he didn't want her to touch, saying, "This is me. All of me. I'm all yours."

After a nightmare, he proposes but she doesn't take it seriously. He proposes again in the morning and she said she'll think about it. He goes off for work and on the way back via helicopter, he almost has a near death experience with a colleague. The helicopter was clearly sabotaged. He comes home in one piece.

He opens his birthday gift she had given him and it's a keyring that says, "Yes".

They get married in "Fifty Shades Freed" and on their honeymoon, they receive a video call about Jack's nefarious activities in Christian's business firm. Arson and stealing personal files.

When she returns to work, she's in charge of the editorial. He takes her to a home she had her eye on and buys it but has plans to renovate. He hires an architect, Gia but clearly openly flirts with Christian but Ana puts her in her place. Gia apologetically shows respect. They're on their way back to the Seattle apartment but is being chased by someone unknown. The intensity brings adrenaline, in turn they end up having sex in the car.

She continues to teach him what love and relationship is about whenever he doesn't do it right. She gets pregnant and he reverts to his old self and finds solace in talking to his 'Mrs Robinson' Elena. This upsets Ana and she locks herself in the red room. She ignores Christian in the morning and tells him, "You're not happy about this baby. I got that. I'm not ecstatic either given the timing and your reaction but babies happen when you have sex. And you and I tend to do a lot of that. So we can either do this together... or I would do it without you."

His reponse, "And what about us?"

"Well, when your husband prefers the company of his ex mistress, it really doesn't say much about your marriage, does it?"

"Elena and I just talked. I was too angry with you."

"I'm angry with you Christian! You left me! You left me when I needed you! You fucked up!"

"Yes, I fucked up and I'm sorry. I'm standing here telling you I'm sorry. She doesn't... she doesn't mean anything to me. I don't need her. I need you."

"Would have been good if you felt that way yesterday."

In the midst of an intense heated moment, she returns to work as usual but Jack calls and tells her he has kidnapped Mia. He demands, "You wanna see your sister-in-law again, get me five million by 1pm."

She couldn't tell Christian and his overprotectiveness and concern kicks in. He lets her take the money from the bank, thinking she was leaving him and tracks her. Jack kicks and beats her. Christian arrives in time after she shoots him in the kneecap and passes out from the pain. He saves Ana and Mia.

Ana is placed in intense care at the hospital and Christian is scared. She wakes up, she and the baby are fine. He finds more information about Jack and it turns out he was in a foster home with him. And Ana recovered information about where his mother was buried. I'm guessing this symbolises a closure for Christian. He has learned to accept love fully and for real and for family in the near future. There's obvious compromise at the end for his red room activities and family for her. The ultimate happiness. Fast forward. There's a son, Teddy and she's clearly pregnant again with their second child.

Hope you enjoyed this read of a quick summary of each movie. Until next read... ciao!


4.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Welcome to my blog home page. I'm Eva. Please feel free to browse around and read. Please follow me on instagram: e_storybookjournal.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
bottom of page